Making Progress

Going on day 3 with no Advil. I think my bite/jaw pain issue has been resolved since the high filling has been adjusted. Phew.

Have been trying out some supplement recommendations I found in the Andy Cutler Chelation literature, and I think they are working.

First I tried: Kal Lithium Orotate — 5 mg – 60 Vegetarian Capsules

It is supposed to improve mood, help with ATP energy, and help B12 get into cells. It is brain protective, and can lower insulin resistance.  You can read more here: http://www.globalhealingcenter.com/natural-health/lithium-orotate/ and http://selfhacked.com/2014/02/09/the-benefits-of-lithium/.

I have been taking this for about a week. I seem to be laughing again – my missing sense of humor is returning. It might give me a slight sore throat, hard to say with all that is going on, but if it is, it seems to be getting less and less each day.

Second, I tried: NOW Foods Inositol, 100 Capsules / 500mg

Inositol also helps with mood and depression, as well as insulin resistance, fat metabolism, and brain protection. It’s good for hair and skin too, and it’s good for PCOS. It’s one of the B vitamins, B8. Read more here: http://www.healthsupplementsnutritionalguide.com/Inositol.html

I have been taking this for less than a week, and have been feeling better, could be the dental work wearing off, could be the mobilized mercury settling in, could be the lithium, but I’ll keep taking this one as it doesn’t seem to be doing any harm.

Third, I added in Best Molybdenum Supplement | Molybdenum 500 mcg | 90 Easy-To-Swallow Vegetarian Capsules | Free of Common Allergens | Seeking Health

Where to start with this one. Well, let’s see. For a long time now, and I mean a LONG TIME, eating has made me tired. I could eat breakfast or lunch and immediately need a nap. I could drink a cup of coffee and fall asleep. I thought for a long time that this was an adrenal thing, or a blood sugar thing, but nothing I’ve tried has helped. It got worse when I started working out this new year, which, I now know was mobilizing mercury… and making me sicker instead of better.

Anyway. I keep seeing posts about thiols – sulfur foods that convert to “thiols” – which are things that stir up mercury and cause mercury mobilization symptoms.

I had looked at the food lists and though, nah, I can eat all those foods. Andy also says:

“You typically get a couple of hours of feeling good, energized, happy, and then libidinous, then you feel tired, draggy and depressed, which goes on for a day to a week. Of course if you are eating sulfur foods at each meal these all get stacked up and you can never figure out what is happening.”

Well, I get immediately tired, not tired a few hours later, so, couldn’t be my issue.

Or could it.

Someone in one of the mercury groups online asked about missing motivation, no passion for living, where did it go? And someone suggested it was a thiol issue.

Really.

Well, I had been reading and there are two solutions for thiol issues: completely avoid high thiol foods, or take a supplement called Molybdenum.

I had some Moly. It was one of the many supplements I had just ordered to support this whole detox process, but I didn’t think I’d need it until I actually started chelating and ran into trouble.

So I opened it and had one with lunch. This was YESTERDAY.

For the first day in… I can’t even tell you… not only did I not nap right after, I did not even think about wishing I could nap.

Instead I read an entire book. About detoxing mercury and contrails (what?) (I don’t know.)

I stayed awake. I made dinner. I popped a second moly. I helped clean up and then watched some tv and wasn’t even sleepy when it was time for bed.

This was weird. Seriously WEIRD for me.

Today, I woke up tired, but there is the time change thing going on – and the dog got me up earlier than I wanted as well.

But, I feel… different. Clear headed. Competent. One with my body, instead of dragging it around with me as an unwilling partner.

This is huge. I love finding a magic bullet.

But why????? Why is it working?

I asked around and someone asked me if I have the CBS gene mutation. I looked it up. YES! I do! Well molybdenum is supposed to help that gene do it’s job. GO FIGURE. It helps you process sulfur foods, which if that CBS pathway is blocked, cause a backup of all kinds of things, including ammonia, which can cause brain fog and aging and all kinds of nasty stuff.

Here, read more here. I had to read this article a couple times, but I think this is IT. http://metabolichealing.com/metabolic-gateways-cbs-gene-mutations-glutathione/

The last time I looked at that CBS gene, nothing made sense to me. But I think the advice I was finding had to do with low CBS, not elevated CBS, and it’s the elevated business that I’m dealing with. It all makes sense now!

So. A major piece of the puzzle SOLVED. I have a sulfur food issue, and because I am mercury toxic, it’s caused a thiol issue, which makes me feel mercury sick all the freakin’ time, and makes me tired and depressed. GOOD TO KNOW.

I popped another moly at lunch today. I have hope again for a normal life!!!

Here are some general articles about molybdenum: http://www.healthsupplementsnutritionalguide.com/Molybdenum.html and http://www.livestrong.com/article/361012-what-are-the-health-benefits-of-molybdenum/.

And here is what I need to wrap my head around – how to lower some of the sulfur load instead of just relying on the molybdenum to do it’s magic constantly. Doing both seems smart.

Andy Cutler’s Thiol Foods Info: http://www.livingnetwork.co.za/chelationnetwork/food/high-sulfur-sulphur-food-list/ 

A short list of low thiol foods that I will actually eat or be able to get my family to eat – that’s not so bad:

Foods low in thiols

  • acorn squash
  • almond milk
  • apples
  • artichokes (french)
  • avocado
  • bacon
  • bananas
  • bamboo shoots
  • beef
  • berries
  • brown sugar
  • butter
  • butternut squash
  • cantaloupe
  • carrots
  • casaba melon
  • celery
  • chicken (white meat, dark meat & organs)
  • cinnamon
  • clams
  • coconut dried/fresh – “There is no significant amount of thiol precursors or thiols in coconut. However some coconut products are sulfited to keep them white colored. Read the label.” [Source: Andy Cutler]
  • cod liver oil
  • cucumber
  • dates
  • duck
  • figs
  • flounder
  • fruit (all fruits other than papaya and pineapple are low thiol)
  • gelatin
  • ginger root fresh
  • grapefruit
  • grapefruit juice squeezed
  • guava
  • halibut
  • ham
  • herbs fresh – basil thyme, rosemary
  • honey
  • honeydew melon
  • jerky
  • king mackerel
  • kiwi
  • lamb
  • lemons
  • lettuce
  • limes
  • lobster
  • mangoes
  • marjoram
  • meats prepared with tenderizer
  • mushrooms
  • non-frozen lemon juice
  • oats
  • olives (green or black)
  • oyster
  • parsley
  • parsnips
  • peaches
  • pears
  • peppers
  • pepper white
  • pepperoni (sometimes contains added ingredients such as garlic)
  • plum
  • pomegranate
  • pork
  • potatoes
  • rice
  • rice milk
  • salmon
  • salt
  • seeds – sunflower, linseeds, pumpkin seeds, flax
  • shellfish
  • shrimp (fresh)
  • spaghetti squash
  • squashes – acorn, butternut, spaghetti, summer, winter, yellow crooked neck, zucchini
  • sweet potato
  • tomatoes
  • trout
  • turkey dark meat
  • turkey white meat
  • vinegar (white)
  • water chestnuts
  • watermelon
  • white sugar
  • winter squash
  • Worcestershire sauce
  • yams
  • yellow crooked neck squash
  • zucchini

And then all the foods I should know to avoid or limit. I think the worst culprits are: cruciferous vegetables, onions, garlic, and eggs. Cutler’s high thiol list also includes dairy, coffee, chocolate, baked goods, beans, peas, greens.

I wonder about “sulfites” as in wine and such… I guess I know what to look up next.

 

Leave a Reply

