Sweet Dreams

Well, not so sweet dreams as it turns out. But lots of weird dreams.

But I’ll start at the beginning.

Yesterday’s research led me to a supplement called “L-Ornithine”.
L-Ornithine is an amino acid that lowers ammonia in the body and brain – a side effect of the CBS mutation and sulfur foods overload. Ammonia can also be a side effect of Lyme disease, but we aren’t going there. (More: http://www.vitaminstuff.com/amino-acid-ornithine.html)

Anyway, not only does it lower ammonia, it is supposed to help with insomnia! I’m always on the lookout for insomnia things to get my husband, who suffers, to try.

So I went out and bought some, mostly for him, but I figured hey, I’ll try it too, ammonia is evil stuff if it’s trapped in a body or brain!

It’s just an amino acid, after all.

Holy acid, batman! I dreamed all night long. As soon as I shut my eyes, I was dreaming. Weird stuff, nothing I remember now though, something about theatre (my kid used to do shows)…. I would wake up, fall right back to sleep, dream again.

This is kind of amazing, because I rarely rarely rarely dream since getting sick. I always think dreaming is a good sign. Low Dose Naltrexone caused some dreams for about a week, but that was it.

I can’t say I had the best sleep of my life, this dreaming will take some getting used to.

Even my fitbit says, meh… but I will try it again. I imagine it’s not easy work to detox a brain of ammonia… or anything else.

IMG_9871

 

Leave a Reply

