Thyroid Mystery Solved?

This afternoon I hit the wall and felt that all too familiar hypothyroid feeling. Like it was too hard to walk across the room. And I couldn’t get warm. And I just wanted to curl up in a ball. What a difference from yesterday.

So… my conclusion is that it’s NOT one of the supplements I’m currently taking that caused this temporary hyperthyroid business.

And I wasn’t miraculously getting better just because I got half the mercury out of my mouth.

So… why. What caused it?

Thinking back… I started taking taurine on Jan 10th. I stopped taking taurine about a week ago when I finally gave up on it being the miracle it was supposed to be – it was putting me to sleep every time I took it.

Turns out, according to yesterday’s research, it’s a sulfur. So that explains why it was making me tired like all sulfur foods seem to do. CBS gene mutation and all that.

But… was it making me hyper? Was it making my heart pound?

Maybe.

I found this link, and it says taurine is an essential part of making thyroid hormone:

“The thyroid gland is a nutritionally dependent organ. It requires such nutrients as selenium, Iodine (12.5 to 50 mg. range), amino acids Taurine (200 to 1000 mg. per day is the recommended dosage.) and L-tyrosine, Forskolin is an extract of an Ayurvedic herb that resensitizes cell receptors; folic acid (400 mcg), zinc (60 mg), copper and vitamins B6 and B12, iron, vitamin E, D, essential fatty acids and manganese.”

And then, I found some people online talking about this PubMed article. It’s titled:

The chemical chaperones tauroursodeoxycholic and 4-phenylbutyric acid accelerate thyroid hormone activation and energy expenditure

… and I think it means that this lab-created taurine-like substance doubles the conversion of T4 to T3…

So perhaps… seeing as I was taking 1 to 2 grams of taurine for almost 2 months… well it could have been the taurine. It’s the best guess I’ve got right now.

 

Leave a Reply

