OK So That Went Bad Fast

You might think I was trying to kill myself or something with all these supplements I take trying to get my life back.

Niacin. Supposed to be good for arthritis (my hands have been hurting me) and mood (who doesn’t need a mood boost?) and detox (what my whole life is about right now). It is supposed to do so much – like fix cholesterol issues, which help hormones, helps skin look younger, etc. etc.

The book was talking about doses in the thousands. THOUSANDS. So I thought it would be safe to try 100mg. The book said, if you don’t get a mild flush, try more. The goal was to get a mild flush. Not a red hot itchy flush for an hour, but a warmth for about a half hour or less. Well I got no flush. So at dinner, I took another 100mg. That dose brought on about 5 minutes of warmth. Not bad, I thought.

A couple hours I got in the hot tub. My kidneys started aching first and then my ovaries. I started hurting to move. I went to bed in pain. I woke up in the middle of the night with extremely itchy feet and ankles. When I woke up in the morning I could see they were covered in hives. And the rest of me felt like I’d been hit by a bus. Every inch of me hurt, inside and out. Deep in my bones, my intestines, my organs. I have never hurt so much in my life. Moving made me want to cry. I took a hot detox bath and some antihistamines, it helped a little, but not enough. I decided I’d better stop my round that I was on – 2.5 mg DMPS and 1mg ALA. That afternoon I took a nap and woke up shivering with a fever. I then took some charcoal and more antihistamines.

I don’t know what the hell happened. It was either an allergic reaction to the DMPS, or I’m so full of toxins that the niacin detox caused me to poison myself.

It’s been 3 days and I’m still moving slow. I’m doing much better, but wow. I feel like I backtracked to before I got my fillings out. Yes, that bad.

 

 

Leave a Reply

